jump to navigation

Takeoff: tomorrow! 2006 August 15

Posted by @jennyjenjen in Pre-Departure, Travel.
trackback

I’m nearly completely packed and ready to go as I spend my last night in the States.

I’m getting kind of nervous. I’ll see my elderly grandfather and my aunt before I leave tomorrow. Both of my parents and my brother are seeing me off at the airport. I’m trying to accept the fact that I might not see my grandfather again. On a lighter note, I’m also trying to accept the fact that I may not see my car again, either; my brother will be driving my car when he gets his license, and although he’ll only have it for three or four months, that’s plenty of time to total it.

Some of my uncles and aunts have called today, and I am thinking that a few more will call tomorrow but I will have already gone. That’s okay; I visited everyone in the spring, and have everyone’s email addresses. I’ll be able to keep in touch.

I had a handful of going-away festivities, including a dinner with a lot of friends and a gathering at my parents’ house. It made me realize that I’d really made a new life in Boulder, because I had such a small list, and thus a small turnout, of invitees for the gathering at my parents’ place.

Packing has been hellacious but I’ve got it all down. My mother was extremely concerned by my lack of enthusiasm, but I’m not quite the same as she is; I pack almost everything at the last minute, and I know exactly what I’m going to pack before hand. The process at the end is merely to make sure everything fits, and you bet it does.

My dog is getting very suspicious. He gets very uneasy at the sight of luggage. He’s used to me being in and out of the house, of course, since I don’t live at my parents’ anymore. But he is not used to this amount of luggage, this amount of panic, and this lack of attention. He’s trying his best to get in the way of things, mostly since nobody has been paying quite enough attention to him, but also – I suspect – because he isn’t entirely sure what’s going on, and he wants to know. Something in the back of my head tells me that he’ll forget me, and it’s kind of a sad thought.

I’m trying to think positive thoughts now, though, since I want to take off on a good note. Hopefully there’s no bickering in the morning and not too many tears. Everyone tells me that the year will go by quickly, which is a good thing for homesickness, but I want to make the most of my year in Sweden.

I’ll update as soon as I can, but I’m afraid it will be a little while before I actually have Internet access. Thankfully I’ll have my computer on me since the travel restrictions have changed, yet I’ll probably be pretty busy the first few days.

Comments»

1. Mik (Easton) - 2006 August 16

Välkommen till Sverige! When you’re reading this you’re already in Sweden, isn’t that awesome? I hope your trip went well, and that you will like your new country where you will spend the upcoming year! :)

2. Dad - 2006 August 16

Gooey won’t forget you…. dogs remember strange smells forevvvvvvver!!!

3. Ef - 2006 August 19

The streets of Boulder weep. As do I. Boo-hoo!


Leave a Reply

